Health Indicator Report of Cigarette Use among High School Students
Tobacco use is usually initiated during adolescence. Nearly 90% of adult smokers begin smoking before 18 years of age. [http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/youth_data/tobacco_use/index.htm ^1^] Smoking is the leading cause of preventable death, leads to disease and disability, and harms nearly every organ of the body.[https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/index.htm ^2^]
NotesThis is Healthy New Jersey 2020 (HNJ2020) Objective TU-1b. ** Data not statistically reliable.
Data SourceYouth Tobacco Survey, Office of Tobacco Control, New Jersey Department of Health, [http://www.nj.gov/health/fhs/tobacco/]
DefinitionPercentage of high school (9th-12th grade) students who have used cigarettes on one or more days in the 30 days preceding the survey
NumeratorNumber of high school student survey respondents who have used cigarettes on one or more days in the 30 days preceding the survey
DenominatorTotal number of high school student survey respondents
Healthy People Objective: Reduce tobacco use by adolescents in grades 9 through 12: Cigarettes (past month)U.S. Target: 16.0 percent
State Target: 7.4 percent
Other Objectives'''Revised Healthy New Jersey 2020 Objective TU-1b''': Reduce the proportion of high school students (grades 9 to 12) who are current smokers (any use in past 30 days) to 7.4% among the total population, 9.0% among Whites, 3.6% among Blacks, and 7.7% among Hispanics. '''Original Healthy New Jersey 2020 Objective TU-1b''': Reduce the proportion of high school students (grades 9 to 12) who are current smokers (any use in past 30 days) to 12.8% among the total population, 13.8% among Whites, 9.9% among Blacks, and 13.1% among Hispanics.
How Are We Doing?Cigarette use among New Jersey high school students has steadily declined since the late 1990s and in 2014 stood at about 8 percent. The original Healthy New Jersey 2020 targets were met by all groups by 2012, so revised targets have been set.
How Do We Compare With the U.S.?The proportion of New Jersey high school students who are current smokers is below that of the nation as a whole.
What Is Being Done?The Office of Tobacco Control is spearheading work on statewide comprehensive tobacco free policies in schools. New Jersey Quit Services are accessible online and by phone. In July, 2017, a bill raising the minimum age for purchase and sale of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices from 19 to 21 was signed into law. [https://nj.gov/health/fhs/tobacco/regulations/]
Available Services[http://www.njquitline.org/ NJ Quitline]: 1-866-NJ-STOPS QuitNet: [https://quitnet.meyouhealth.com/#/ http://www.quitnet.com/]
Health Program InformationNJDOH Office of Tobacco Control: [https://nj.gov/health/fhs/tobacco/]
Page Content Updated On 08/15/2018, Published on 08/15/2018