Skip directly to searchSkip directly to the site navigationSkip directly to the page's main content

Health Indicator Report of Seatbelt Usage (Self-Reported)

Motor vehicle crashes are the second leading cause of unintentional injury death in New Jersey and in the United States. Seat belt use can help to prevent injuries and death and the use of seat belts is mandatory in New Jersey.


**No data is available for 2019. This is Healthy New Jersey 2020 (HNJ2020) Objective IVP-7a.

Data Interpretation Issues

Data from the New Jersey Risk Factor Survey are intended to represent non-institutionalized adults in households with telephones. Data are collected using a random sample of all possible telephone numbers. Prior to analysis, data are weighted to represent the population distribution of adults by age, sex, and "race"/ethnicity. As with all surveys, however, some residual bias may result from nonresponse (e.g., refusal to participate in the survey or to answer specific questions) and measurement error (e.g., social desirability or recall). Attempts are made to minimize such error by use of a strict calling protocol (up to 15 calls are made to reach each household), good questionnaire design, standardization of interviewer behavior, interviewer training, and frequent, on-site interviewer monitoring and supervision.


Percentage of New Jersey adults aged 18 and over who who reported wearing a seat belt always in automobiles.


Number of persons aged 18 and over who reported wearing a seat belt always in automobiles.


Total number of persons aged 18 and over in the sample survey

Healthy People Objective: Increase use of safety belts

U.S. Target: 92 percent
State Target: 100 percent

Other Objectives

'''Healthy New Jersey 2020 Objective IVP-7a''': Increase self-reported adult (age 18+) seat belt use "always" to 100% for the total population, Whites, and Asians; 98% among Blacks; and 99.6% among Hispanics.

How Are We Doing?

In 2020, about 90% of New Jersey adults reported that they always use a seat belt when driving or riding in a car.

What Is Being Done?

New Jersey's Seat Belt Law (NJS 39:3-76.2f) signed on January 18th, 2010 requires that all vehicle occupants must wear their seat belt regardless of seating position in a vehicle.

Health Program Information

New Jersey Seat Belt Laws: [] NJ Division of Highway Traffic Safety: []
Page Content Updated On 10/27/2022, Published on 10/27/2022
The information provided above is from the Department of Health's NJSHAD web site ( The information published on this website may be reproduced without permission. Please use the following citation: " Retrieved Mon, 04 March 2024 12:26:44 from Department of Health, New Jersey State Health Assessment Data Web site: ".

Content updated: no date