Health Indicator Report of Current Tobacco Use among High School Students
Tobacco use is usually initiated during adolescence. More than 90% of adult smokers begin smoking before 18 years of age. Youth use of tobacco in any form is unsafe. Youth who use multiple tobacco products are at higher risk for developing nicotine dependence and might be more likely to continue using tobacco into adulthood.[http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/youth_data/tobacco_use/index.htm ^1^]
NotesThis is Healthy New Jersey 2020 (HNJ2020) Objective TU-2. ** The survey was not conducted in 2010.
Data SourceYouth Tobacco Survey, Office of Tobacco Control, New Jersey Department of Health, [http://www.nj.gov/health/fhs/tobacco/]
DefinitionPercentage of high school students (grade 9-12) who have used tobacco (cigarettes, cigars, smokeless tobacco, bidis) in the 30 days preceding the survey
NumeratorNumber of high school students who have used tobacco (cigarettes, cigars, smokeless tobacco, bidis) in the 30 days preceding the survey
DenominatorTotal number of high school student survey respondents
Healthy People Objective: Reduce tobacco use by adolescents in grades 9 through 12: Tobacco products (past month)U.S. Target: 21.0 percent
State Target: 12.8 percent
Other Objectives'''Revised Healthy New Jersey Objective TU-2''': Reduce current tobacco use (cigarettes, cigars, smokeless tobacco, bidis) by high school students (grade 9-12) to 12.8% among all students, 14.9% among Whites, 8.8% among Blacks, and 13.4% among Hispanics. '''Original Healthy New Jersey Objective TU-2''': Reduce current tobacco use (cigarettes, cigars, smokeless tobacco, bidis) by high school students (grade 9-12) to 20% among all students, 21.5% among Whites, 19.5% among Blacks, and 22.6% among Hispanics.
How Are We Doing?The original Healthy New Jersey 2020 targets were met by all racial/ethnic groups by 2012, so revised targets were set.
What Is Being Done?The Office of Tobacco Control is spearheading work on statewide comprehensive tobacco free policies in schools. New Jersey Quit Services are accessible online and by phone. In July, 2017, a bill raising the minimum age for purchase and sale of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices from 19 to 21 was signed into law. [https://nj.gov/health/fhs/tobacco/regulations/]
Available Services[http://njquitline.org/ NJ Quitline]: 1-866-NJ-STOPS QuitNet: [http://www.quitnet.com/ http://www.quitnet.com/]
Health Program Information[https://nj.gov/health/fhs/tobacco/ NJDOH Office of Tobacco Control]
Page Content Updated On 08/15/2018, Published on 08/15/2018